top of page

Employment-based Green Cards

There are a variety of employment-based green cards available in the United States, each with their own set of requirements. The most common categories are EB-1, EB-2, and EB-3, but there are also EB-4 and EB-5 cards. The process of obtaining an employment-based green card can be complex, so it’s important to have an understanding of the various steps involved.

The first step is to identify which category you fall into. The most common categories are those for skilled workers, professionals, and those with extraordinary ability. If you don’t fall into any of these categories, you may still be able to get a green card through another route, such as family sponsorship or asylum.

Once you’ve identified the correct category, you will need to file a petition with the US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). This petition must show that you meet the eligibility requirements for the particular category you’re applying for. It’s important to note that there is often a long wait time for a green card, so it’s important to file your petition as soon as possible.

                                                        Permanent Worker Visa Preference Categories

First Preference EB-1

This preference is reserved for persons of extraordinary ability in the sciences, arts, education, business, or athletics; outstanding professors or researchers; and multinational executives and managers.

Labor Certification: No

Second Preference EB-2

This preference is reserved for persons who are members of the professions holding advanced degrees or for persons with exceptional ability in the arts, sciences, or business.

Labor Certification:  Yes, unless applicant can obtain a national interest waiver (Labor Certification)

Third Preference EB-3


This preference is reserved for professionals, skilled workers, and other workers. (See Third Preference EB-3 page for further definition of these job classifications.)


Labor Certification: Yes

Fourth Preference EB-4

This preference is reserved for “special immigrants,” which includes certain religious workers, employees of U.S. foreign service posts, retired employees of international organizations, noncitizen minors who are wards of courts in the United States, and other classes of noncitizens.

Labor Certification: No

Fifth Preference EB-5

This preference is reserved for business investors who invest $1.8 million or $900,000 (if the investment is made in a targeted employment area) in a new commercial enterprise that employs at least 10 full-time U.S. workers.

Labor Certification: No


For assistance with green cards for your family members, please contact us at the address below or fill out the contact link for a free consultation.


bottom of page